Opening A Bar

Bars are always very crowded in New York City. ALWAYS. After all these years of living here, I am still fascinated by how you can literally get squeezed out of a bar if it’s too crowded. So I thought to myself; my God, if every bar in New York is always this popular, why don’t I start a bar? I’d make a killing!

Granted, we’re in the midst of a recession, but starting a business is equally challenging no matter what the state of the economy is. Plus, there are more location opportunities, since several business closings have led to more vacant lots. Curious, I asked a bouncer at a bar in Greenwich Village about it. His reply? “I’ve worked at a lot of bars. Many of them were started by people who thought the same way. And they’re all out of business.”

He then laughed, saying he didn’t want to discourage me too much, but mentioned that there’s a lot more to running a bar then opening the doors and taking drunk people’s money. There’s a million licensing fees, there’s the costs of constantly having to fix things that drunk people break or vomit on…then, of course, you need a crapload of starting capital to afford the rent and the re-modeling costs up front. But in the end, he encouraged me to give it a go.

I’m tempted to try it, but first I need about $100,000. So if anybody reading this has about a hundred thousand dollars lying around, feel free to send it to me (check or money order will do just fine), and I’ll name the bar after you. Sounds good? Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have to make a few phone calls…

-David

Leave a Reply

